Last day in Beaufort

Includes: Johnson Creek Tavern, St. Helena’s Island, SC; Saltus River Grill, Beaufort, SC; and more   

Even though I’ll publish this Thursday morning, I’m writing it Wednesday night with an overly full stomach and tired body and mind. I’ve literally stuffed myself with South Carolina low country edibles. I believe it’s time to leave Beaufort County.

Here’s a Cliff’s Notes version — no, even more abbreviated than Cliff’s Notes — of two of today’s meals.

Mid-day: Chain-of-islands drive with a stop at Johnson Creek Tavern on St. Helena’s Island for lunch. Shrimp burger (a patty formed of chopped local shrimp and stuffing-like ingredients), to-die-for beer-battered onion rings and the requisite I’m-on-vacation lunchtime beer.

Dinner at casually elegant, sleek Saltus River Grill back in Beaufort. A favorite of my parents’, and I can see why. Prosecco to start, with warm bread and exquisite olive oil. Next, a hearts of romaine salad that was like a decomposed deconstructed (haha!) Caesar: romaine leaves tied with strips of red onion, white anchovies, dressing and parmesan cheese crisps. Main course: roasted wild salmon with a barigoule (?! a new culinary term to look up) of grilled artichokes, carrots and onions, on top of a white bean puree. The veggies were very good, but the salmon, oh! Perfectly cooked. Moist, flaky, delicate, a blushy pink. The skin was even perfectly seared and crisp and delicious. Some of the best salmon I’ve ever had. And finally, a very, very rich cappuccino.

Complete satiety.

I should note that Mom has had french fries with three meals here so far. Three outstanding types of french fries, I must say.

Despite the fact that we’re headed to Charleston, I’m aiming for a simpler, cleaner food day tomorrow. But we all know what happens to good intentions …

About atarheeltastes

I'm a passionate foodie who started this "temporary" blog during a gustatory tour of Tuscany. I decided to continue, since I love to dream about, plan for, prepare, eat and write about food!
This entry was posted in Elsewhere, Restaurants, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

