Market goodness

I absolutely adore all the little farmer’s markets that are popping up across Raleigh over the last couple of years. The North Carolina State Farmer’s Market is immense, yes, but it’s not conveniently located for me, being in south Raleigh. Also, it’s very crowded and there’s not a lot of organic produce for sale.

Carrboro and Durham have awesome, large markets, but I’m just as fond of Raleigh’s smaller, more intimate neighborhood versions.

Raleigh’s newest (I think) — and now my favorite — Saturday Market is in the Boylan Heights area downtown, outside Rebus Works gallery on Kinsey Street. It boasts great local products and has some unique features like a chicken coop next door neighbor. And who wouldn’t like a market that offers live music, chair massages, bloody marys and locally brewed beer? I also appreciate that the non-comestibles are slightly separate.

New Grass Gardens

Double T Farm

Today’s Saturday Market bounty is: strawberry honeysuckle jam from Porch Rockin’, cinnamon creamed honey from Bee Blessed Pure Honey, turnips from friends-and-favorites New Grass Gardens, a Mexican chocolate cookie (vendor unknown), blueberries (ditto) and potatoes from Double T Farm. (I have to say, Double T farmer Tom grows some damn good potatoes. And I can’t wait for his sungold tomatoes later in the season.)

Bee Blessed Pure Honey

No matter which market you choose, I encourage you to venture beyond the grocery store aisles and support our wonderful local farmers and other purveyors on Saturday mornings. It’s a great way to start the weekend.

Porch Rockin'

About atarheeltastes

I'm a passionate foodie who started this "temporary" blog during a gustatory tour of Tuscany. I decided to continue, since I love to dream about, plan for, prepare, eat and write about food!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

