Bowl of goodness + chutney

Includes mom’s mango chutney recipe

Zzzzzzzz … yes, still eating vegan. Still kinda boring.

But check out the non-boring posts by a Serious Eats paid food writer who went vegan for a month. (Thanks, Christy, for the recommendation.) Thoughtful stuff and fantastic recipes — and I agree with a lot of what he says. You should start with the Day 1 entry on page 5 and work your way chronologically back through the blog if you’re interested. The author demonstrates, among other things, that if you’ve got plenty of time to play in the kitchen vegan cooking can be brilliant.

Okay, back to business. You’ll be happy to know that tonight I ate something I liked enough to share here. I got it from a Whole Foods blog post about throwing together healthy “bowls.”

As much as I love to eat and cook, you’d think I’d be one of those types who can meld ingredients together by intuition and end up with a good meal. But no …

This bowl framework is a great step in that direction, though. Good ideas even for those who think they have no time to make something nutritious, or who are intimidated by cooking.

Tonight I tried the Delhi Express version, using tofu instead of shrimp. And, of course, homemade mango chutney (recipe courtesy of my mom).

It’s an outrageously good, tart-and-tangy-but-not-spicy chutney recipe. Impressive, yet easy to make. In fact, a friend of mine who I gave some to at Christmas told me recently that she and her husband cracked the jar open for the first time and consumed half of it at one sitting!

Before I type the recipe, a note on the fruits you can use. Mangoes are best. The big kind, not quite ripe. (Not too tart and green, but definitely firm.) Apples or unripe pears or peaches will also work, but the texture is best with mangoes.

Mom’s mango chutney

  • 5 cups sugar
  • 4 cups vinegar
  • 12 cups peeled and thinly sliced unripe mangoes
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 cup grated ginger
  • dried red pepper flakes — about 1-2 teaspoons
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 cups golden raisins (if you don’t mind a darker chutney use regular)
  • 1 cup currants or regular raisins
  • 1 t. salt
  • 1 t. ground allspice
  • 1 t. ground cloves
  • 1 T. cinnamon

Boil sugar and vinegar together for 5 minutes in a heavy saucepan. Add remaining ingredients and cook over low to moderate heat for about an hour, stirring often, until mangoes are translucent. Cool slightly and spoon into jars. Keeps refrigerated for a l-o-n-g time.

Note: This recipe makes a lot. Unless you’re giving some away or plan to eat a lot of chutney yourself, you might want to make half.


About atarheeltastes

I'm a passionate foodie who started this "temporary" blog during a gustatory tour of Tuscany. I decided to continue, since I love to dream about, plan for, prepare, eat and write about food!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bowl of goodness + chutney

  1. Rachel says:

    Interesting post. I love the bowl idea. The chutney looks good too.

  2. I see a lot of bowls in my future…

  3. Lianne Meilhac says:

    That chutney sounds awesome! Any idea how many mangoes will yield six cups sliced?

    • It depends on the size of the mangoes. I think I last used about 4 of the large ones. Better to err on the side of buying too many — if you have leftovers, you can just let them ripen and eat them! Let me know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

