The siren’s call

As promised, here’s my commentary on the cupcakes my cravings forced me to fetch last evening. (And no, I did not eat them both at once. I’ll admit that I wanted to. But I enjoyed one last night, and saved the second for a few minutes ago.)

I ate what I thought was going to be the best one first. (I was right.) Even though its green sprinkles may look a bit gaudy, it was my most excellent cupcake dream come true.

Those of you who know me well are familiar with my favorite drink-and-dessert combo: a Guinness and a brownie. Stout and chocolate. A powerful flavor punch that you shouldn’t knock until you’ve tried.

So … the Guinness chocolate cupcake. The dark stuff was baked into the cake part, and the buttercream frosting was spiked with Jameson’s Irish whiskey and Bailey’s Irish Cream. It was nothing short of devine.

Tonight’s Black Forest chocolate cupcake was topped with a nice buttercream. But the highlight was the filling, which was a light, fluffy chocolate cream with bits of cherries blended in.

It’s both a very good and a very bad thing that Sugarland has arrived in Raleigh. I guess I should be thankful that it’s a 20-minute car ride away …

About atarheeltastes

I'm a passionate foodie who started this "temporary" blog during a gustatory tour of Tuscany. I decided to continue, since I love to dream about, plan for, prepare, eat and write about food!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

