Ciao

I began this pursuit in Italy, so I suppose it’s fitting I title this post with the Italian word for farewell.

Lately blogging has started to feel like a bit of a chore — at the worst of times, anyway. And at the best, it’s just not exciting me these days like it used to. I find myself procrastinating more and more.

Since A Tarheel Tastes poured forth from my heart and is no way a commercial endeavor, I’m sure not going to force myself to continue if my heart’s no longer in it.

But you know, “Ciao” is a mighty handy word. It can be issued either when parting … or meeting.

So if fancy strikes again somewhere down the road, I might pop back into this space.

In the meantime, I leave you with candied bacon.

I was recently on a business trip at a golf resort in South Carolina where I helped host some sales award winners. Candied bacon was part of the arrival snack spread, and everyone was wild for it.

The hotel even delivered a dish one night to my room. Fortunately, some homemade Cracker Jack was underneath — but I did take a nibble of the bacon. And for all of you bacon lovers out there: Be prepared to be wowed.

I decided to make a batch for my family at Thanksgiving. There are a billion recipes online for candied bacon, all nearly identical and made in the oven. The technique wasn’t at all what I had imagined.

I should have paid attention to my instincts.

Everybody proclaimed the result tasty, but it was not the resort’s brittle, shiny, toffee-like coating.

bacon

So of course I begged the recipe from Chef, and it couldn’t be more simple.

Fry the bacon. Stir, melt and cook white sugar in a saucepan over low heat until it caramelizes, then drizzle over the bacon strips. Let harden. Eat.

That’s it. Easy-peasy.

A big thanks to my handful of loyal followers. Those of you who are local, don’t be strangers. I’m always ready to go grab a bite.

About atarheeltastes

I'm a passionate foodie who started this "temporary" blog during a gustatory tour of Tuscany. I decided to continue, since I love to dream about, plan for, prepare, eat and write about food!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ciao

  1. The blog world will miss your posts. Thanks for letting me be around for a few of the posts – and I am always open to exploring new tastes!!!

  2. Paige says:

    I have enjoyed these delicious tales of vital vittle adventures, Terry, and will miss your tasty postings, but grabbing a bite now and again will be even better!.

Leave a Reply

